Utils

Long time, no see.. It’s been a very busy year to say the least.

I always liked to solve problems, to write code and experiment with stuff, so as you do, I developed some personal projects to try out new things.

I usually develop in Java, using Apache Maven as my build and dependency management tool, in my spare time and at my job too. I’ve noticed that I usually keep my general purpose utilities classes under packages like *.utils or *.helper.

This led to a lot of copy-pasted code all over the place. A lot of methods were also untested. I couldn’t even be bothered to look inside the other projects if there was already what I needed, so I ended up re-writing already existent stuff, that’s for sure.

I finally decided that I’m done with this mess.

I started a project called utils, and I choose that it should be open source and available under the BSD 3-Clause License.

The source code is hosted on GitHub and I put the project under continuous integration testing with a service called Travis CI. I use another service called Codacy that provides automated code analysis. I also discovered another service called JitPack looking around for a quick way to share my artifacts online. The home page of JitPack reads “Easy to use package repository for Git” and I can say that’s really great! It uses maven as the build tool, provides artifacts for sources/javadoc and it’s integrated with GitHub release system (just tag your code on git and you’re good to go basically, artifacts are online usually the order of seconds).

All this services are free for open source and it’s a great technological stack to write good code, check them out.

Here’s what i’ve setup for the project:

utils is open source and in development so, of course suggestions, critics, contributions and whatever are welcome.

One thought on “Utils

Leave a Reply

